GRAND OPENING – OCTOBER 6, 2017
The Orchard House and Café is a charming, old world country Inn located on 5 acres of open field, one mile north of the Village of Freeport on US Route 1. The original farmhouse, built in the 1840’s, features five spacious European-inspired bedrooms with private bath, a beautifully appointed living room with fireplace and a sunlit dining room where continental breakfast is served daily. Adjoining the Inn is an inviting café with vaulted, beamed ceilings, fireplace and french doors leading to an outdoor arbor for seasonal dining.
The House, barn and surrounding property have served multiple owners over its 250 year history. In the early years it was a working farm, changing hands only a few times until 1960 when it was purchased by Maine artist Thomas Crotty. After moving his art gallery to Portland and back, he opened the Frost Gully Gallery on site, offering Maine artists a magnificent barn in which to display and sell their work. At the time of his death in 2015, Crotty was operating what was considered the oldest art gallery in the state.
The current owner, Bill Hamlen, whose ancestors came from Portland, bought the property in 2016, converting the main house into a comfortable Inn, due to open in August of 2017. Continued renovations are underway to create a Cafe for year-round dining, with an expected opening in 2018. In addition, Bill intends to set aside gallery space for area artists, in recognition of Thomas Crotty’s contributions to the Maine art world.
Located a mile from downtown Freeport and shopping outlets, The Orchard House can accommodate 5 couples comfortably, all with private bath and complimentary continental breakfast.